Official Sponsor fona Cab
Latest News

Antrim 0-13 Cavan 1-10 Leo Murphy Cup (under-20 football)

9th June 2019


Leo Murphy Cup (under-20 football)

Antrim 0-13 Cavan 1-10

#TheSaffronGael reports:

The Antrim under-20 side just missed out on a place in the Leo Murphy Cup semi finals when they finished on level terms with Cavan in their last assignment in the league section at Glenavy on Saturday afternoon but Hugh Mc Gettigan’s charges will have good cause to reflect on the opening couple of minutes of the second period with some regret.

The young Saffrons having dominated the opening thirty minutes, superior in all areas, had taken the break full value for their 0-09 a 0-03 advantage, but that advantage was to be almost wiped out only a few minutes into the second half.

Rossa’s Dominic Mc Enhill claimed the opening point a couple of minutes into proceedings with Pat Shivers following suit shortly thereafter.


Cavan having impressed in back to back wins gained over Louth and Derry in the competition opened their own account with a Cian Madden 6th minute converted free, but the home side were quick to regain control and a superb finish and a 9th minute Ronan Kelly point which sandwiched a couple of long range frees planted between the posts almost at leisure by Pat Shivers saw the Antrim lads stroll into a 0-05 to 0-01 lead as the end of the opening quarter approached.

A 17th minute Carl Cosgrove point did see the Breffni lads double their tally but such was soon to be negated as Pat Shivers delivered another long range free between the posts as a despairing challenge on the incoming Tiernan Mc Ateer was firmly chastised and although the former was to claim another score this was to complete their first period tally.

Antrim went on to dominate completely in the remainder and a couple of superb finishes from Tiernan Mc Ateer which followed classic examples of rear guard activity saw further white flags added and Pat Shivers stroked another free kick between the posts ensured a fully deserved 0-09 to 0-03 interval advantage.

The Saffron clad side had impressed in the opening thirty minutes but as the Antrim lads looked on in a passive bystanders role Cavan fairly blasted out of the start blocks for the second thirty minutes, as centre forward Cian Madden helped himself to a couple of early scores with the back to back deliveries which seemed to aid morale within the blue and white.


Boosted by their start the Breffni lads broke upfield and Ronan Patterson claimed the ball back on his own ‘40’ before advancing upfield before delivering to the back of the net to reduce the deficit to the bare minimum, 0-0-9 to 1-05 just three minutes after the restart.

The Antrim lads had seemingly left their confidence behind in the Chapel Hill changing room and before they got themselves together the Breffni Blues seized the opportunity to open up a 1-10 to 0-10.

Eoghan Mc Cabe had grabbed a point back for the home side as he foraged forward to deliver an excellent 35th minute point but the confidence was still lacking among the boys in Saffron

The Breffni lads stretched their lead when replacements Ewan Fegan, Pat Lynch (0-02), and the ever accurate Cian Madden (0-02) added points and at this stage the visitors looked odds on to claim the victory.

Antrim were not about to give up the fight and Mc Gettigan’s boys rallied to finish strongly. An Eoghan Mc Cabe point followed by couple of late Liam Quinn frees saw them draw level to claim a draw 0-13 to 1-10.

Although they will miss out on a place in the semifinal stages of the Leo Murphy Cup competition Antrim do have a more important date on the horizon as they are set to line out against Down in the championship which will be first on the bill of the Ulster Final 23rd June.

Referee E Mc Feeley (Donegal)


Michael Byrne, Marcus Donnelly, Jamie Lamont, Eunan Mc Ateer, Ryan Convery, Eoghan Mc Cabe (0-01), James Mc Caffrey, Eoin Mc Menamin, Dermot Mc Erlean (0-01), Jamie Lenaghan, Tiernan Mc Ateer (0-02), Dominic Mc Enhill (0-01), Adam Loughran, Ronan Kelly (0-01), Pat Shivers (0-05)


Jamie Gribbin for A Loughran

Liam Quinn (0-02) for R Kelly

Ciaran O’ Neill for M Donnelly

Deaghlan Smith for J Lenaghan

Dominic Mc Ateer for P Shivers

Cormac Mc Gettigan for T Mc Ateer (black card)


Share This Story

News Categories
Recent News