Official Sponsor Fibrus
Amhrán na bhFiann

Amhrán na bhFiann

Amhrán na bhFiann

Amhrán na bhFiann, originally composed in English as "The Soldiers' Song", is the Irish national anthem. The music was composed by Peadar Kearney and Patrick Heeney, the original English lyrics (as "A Soldiers' Song") by Kearney, and the Irish language translation by Liam Ó Rinn. The song has three verses, but only the choral refrain was officially designated the national anthem.

The Presidential Salute, played when the President of Ireland arrives at an official engagement, consists of the first four bars of the national anthem immediately followed by the last five.

The National Anthem is sung before all county GAA matches . Scór competitors have the honour of singing the anthem at matches in their counties. Here are some photographs of some of the Antrim Scór competitors who have been afforded that honour this year.

Recent News